California Model School Flag - CCEAThe Model Continuation High School Recognition Program is sponsored by the California Department of Education (CDE), Educational Options Division, in cooperation with the California Continuation Education Association (CCEA).

CDE receives numerous requests from school districts, the media, and other state agencies for a list of effective continuation schools that they may visit. The Model Continuation Education Recognition Program identifies and recognizes outstanding programs and creates a resource bank of quality programs for school visitations. These schools provide exemplary programs to at-risk youth through the use of innovative instructional strategies, flexible scheduling, and guidance and counseling services.

Requirements and Application

CDE CCEA Model School Seal (MCHS)CDE encourages all continuation high schools that have been in operation a minimum of two years and meet other eligibility criteria to review their programs and submit an application for statewide recognition.

Selected schools are Model Schools for three years; after that, those schools will need to re-apply.

Learn How to Apply

Application 2019-2020 | Download forms

Our Model Schools

CCEA Model Continuation Dinner 2018We would like to congratulate our current Model Schools!  Each is listed below in alphabetical order with contact information — please note: contacts for each school will change from time to time.

Model Schools Only (only members can view):
Purchase Model School Flag | Purchase Diploma Stickers



2019 Model Continuation High Schools

  1. Alta Vista High School, 1325 Bryant Avenue, Mountain View, CA 94040-4527 : Bill Pierce, Principal — Phone: 650-691-2433
  2. Brea Canyon High School, 689 North Wildcat Way, Brea, CA 92821-7400 : Eric Barrientos, Principal — Phone: 714-990-7882
  3. Calaveras Hills High School, 1331 East Calaveras Boulevard, Milpitas, CA 95035-5707 : Carl Stice,
    Principal — Phone: 408-635-2690
  4. Columbus High School, 12330 Woodruff Avenue, Downey, CA 90241-5610 : Anthony Zegarra,
    Principal — Phone: 562-904-3552
  5. Conejo Valley High School, 1400 East Janss Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91362-2198 : Martin Manzer,
    Principal — Phone: 805-498-6646
  6. Dr. John H. Milor Continuation High School, 266 West Randall, Rialto, CA 92376-6926 : Andres Luna,
    Principal — Phone: 909-820-7785
  7. El Camino High School, 14625 Keese Drive, Whittier, CA 90604-3119 : Ryan Cummins, Director — Phone: 562-
    210-2700
  8. Hare (Marie L.) High School, 12012 Magnolia Street, Garden Grove, CA 92841-1644 : Stephanie
    Heflin, Principal — Phone: 714-663-6508
  9. John J. Cairns Continuation High School, 290 North Harvard Avenue, Lindsay, CA 93247-2304 : Dennis Doane, Principal — Phone: 559-562-5913
  10. Kings Canyon High School, 10026 South Crawford Avenue, Dinuba, CA 93618-9208 : Ron Pack,
    Principal — Phone: 559-305-7393
  11. Kings River High School, 1801 Seventh Street, Sanger, CA 93657-2895 : Rick Church, Principal — Phone:
    559-524-6490
  12. La Paloma High School, 400 Ghiggeri Way, Brentwood, CA 94513-5314 : Chris Holland, Principal — Phone: 925-634-2888
  13. Lee V. Pollard High School, 185 Magnolia Avenue, Corona, CA 92879-3329 : Michael Ridgway,
    Principal — Phone: 951-736-3367
  14. Lovell High School, 12724 Avenue 392, Cutler, CA 93615-9769 : Robert Gonzales, Principal — Phone: 559-
    528-4703
  15. Maple High School, 4010 Jupiter Avenue, Lompoc, CA 93436-1819 : Katherine Wallace, Principal — Phone: 805-742-3150
  16. Mount Toro High School, 10 Sherwood Place, Salinas, CA 93906-4010 : Gloria Chaidez, Principal — Phone: 831-796-7700
  17. Nueva Vista Continuation High School, 6836 34th Street, Jurupa Valley, CA 92509-1301 : Michael
    Rogers, Principal — Phone: 951-360-2802
  18. Pacific Career & Technology High School, 6560 Melrose Drive, North Highlands, CA 95660-4375 : Darryl Hawthrone, Principal — Phone: 916-566-2715
  19. Pacific High School, 501 College Drive, Ventura, CA 93003-3413 : Deidre Monarres, Principal — Phone: 805-
    289-7950
  20. Paloma Creek High School, 10801 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422-8867 : Chris Balogh,
    Principal — Phone: 805-462-4350
  21. R. K. Lloyde High School, 4951 Marine Avenue, Lawndale, CA 90260-1251 : Ben Wardrop,
    Principal — Phone: 310-263-3264
  22. Patricia Dreizler Continuation High School, 1000 Del Amo Street, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-3034 : Anthony Bridi, Principal — Phone: 310-798-8690
  23. Renaissance Continuation High School, 11 Spring Valley Road, La Selva Beach, CA 95076-9638 : Dana Richards, Principal — Phone: 831-728-6344
  24. Ruben Salazar High School, 9115 Balfour Street, Pico Rivera, CA 90660-3225 : Gabriel Gonzalez,
    Principal — Phone: 562-801-7680
  25. Serra High School, 31422 Camino Capistrano, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675-2600 : Meg Ervais,
    Principal — Phone: 949-489-7216
  26. Sierra Vista High School, 8470 Avenue 406, Dinuba, CA 93618-1825 : Suzanne Rodriguez,
    Principal — Phone: 559-595-7240
  27. Somerset High School, 9242 East Laurel Street, Bellflower, CA 90706-7607 : Mark Kailiponi,
    Principal — Phone: 562-804-6548
  28. Tierra Del Sol Continuation High School, 3700 East Belle Terrace, Bakersfield, CA 93307-6832 : Chris Dutton, Principal — Phone: 661-832-3700
  29. Tracy (Wilbur) High School, 12222 Cuesta Drive, Cerritos, CA 90703-2801 : Ricardo Brown,
    Principal — Phone: 562-229-7760
  30. Valley Alternative Schools, 15430 Shadybend Drive, Hacienda Heights, CA 91745-2121 : Joaquin
    Martinez, Principal — Phone: 626-933-3401
  31. Vista Continuation High School, 200 P Street, Bakersfield, CA 93304-3051 : Tracey Lozano,
    Principal — Phone: 661-327-8561


2018 Model Continuation High Schools

  1. Albert Powell High School, 1875 Clark Avenue, Yuba City, CA, 95991-1274 : Jennifer Cates, Principal — Phone: 530-822-5210
  2. Allan F. Daily High School, 220 North Kenwood, Glendale, CA, 91206-4209 : Rene Valdes, Principal — Phone: 818-247-4805
  3. Apollo High School, 3150 School Street, Simi Valley, CA, 93065-3998 : Shanna Sarris, Principal — Phone: 805-520-6150
  4. Aurora High School, 1391 Kloke Road, Calexico, CA, 92231-4228 : John Moreno, Principal — Phone: 760-768-3940
  5. Central Coast High School, 200 Coe Avenue, Seaside, CA, 93955-6588 : Alan Crawford, Principal — Phone: 831-392-3560
  6. Century High School, 20 South Marengo Avenue, Alhambra, CA, 91801-1947 : Phuong Nguyen, Principal — Phone: 626-943-6680
  7. Coronado High School, 1500 East Francisquito Avenue, West Covina, CA, 91791-3823 : Veronica Pendleton,
    Principal — Phone: 626-931-1810
  8. Del Mar High School, 312 South Del Mar Avenue, San Gabriel, CA, 91776-1356 : Lon Sellers, Principal — Phone: 626-291-5723
  9. Delta High School, 4893 Bethany Lane, Santa Maria, CA, 93455-4880 : Esther Prieto-Chavez, Principal — Phone: 805-937-6356
  10. Desert Oasis High School, 1302 South Third Street, El Centro, CA, 92243-6604 : Fernando O’Campo,
    Principal — Phone: 760-336-4555
  11. Fernando R. Ledesma High School, 12347 Ramona Boulevard, El Monte, CA, 91732-2569 : Freddy Arteaga,
    Principal — Phone: 626-442-0481
  12. Frontier High School, 9401 South Painter Avenue, Whittier, CA, 90605-2729 : Margie Moriarty, Principal — Phone: 562-698-8121
  13. Gateway High School, 1550 Herndon Avenue, Clovis, CA, 93611-0598 : Rees Warne, Principal — Phone: 559-327-1800
  14. Green Valley High School, 35948 Susan Street, Yucaipa, CA, 92399-5299 : Cara Prentiss, Principal — Phone: 909-790-8580
  15. Kinney High School, 2710 Kilgore Road, Rancho Cordova, CA, 95670-6104 : Dana Carrigan, Principal — Phone: 916-294-9060
  16. Lopez Continuation High School, 1055 Mesa View Drive, Arroyo Grande, CA, 93420-3311 : Jennifer Bowen, Principal — Phone: 805-474-3750
  17. Mountain View High School, 1000 Ramona Boulevard, San Jacinto, CA, 92582-2576 : Kenneth Swanson,
    Principal — Phone: 951-487-7710
  18. Mountain Vista High School, 1901 Clinton Avenue, Madera, CA, 93638-1941 : Aimee Anderson, Principal — Phone: 559-675-4580
  19. Nueva Continuation High School, 8600 Palm Avenue, Lamont, CA, 93241-2212 : Mark Weir, Principal — Phone: 661-845-1532
  20. Olympic Continuation High School, 2730 Salvio Street, Concord, CA, 94519-2599 : Lynsie Castellano,
    Principal — Phone: 925-687-0363
  21. Orange Grove High School, 300 Buena Vista Avenue, Corona, CA, 92882-1937 : Henry Torres, Principal — Phone: 951-736-3339
  22. Palomar High School, 480 Palomar Street, Chula Vista, CA, 91911-3098 : Karen Hernandez, Principal — Phone: 619-407-4800
  23. Rancho Vista High School, 32225 Pio Pico Road, Temecula, CA, 92592-6200 : Reggie Ingram, Principal — Phone: 951-695-7320
  24. Salisbury High School, 1050 Kimball Road, Red Bluff, CA, 96080-2502 : Barbara Thomas, Principal — Phone: 530-529-8766
  25. San Andreas High School, 599 William Avenue, Larkspur, CA, 94939-1554 : David Luongo, Principal — Phone: 415-945-3751
  26. San Antonio High School, 125 West San Jose Avenue, Claremont, CA, 91711-5205 : Sean Delgado, Principal — Phone: 909-398-0316
  27. Sierra High School, 1134 South Barranca Avenue, Glendora, CA, 91740-4916 : Paul Hernandez, Principal — Phone: 626-852-8300
  28. Vail High School, 1230 South Vail Avenue, Montebello, CA, 90640-6312 : Horacio Perez, Principal — Phone: 323-728-1940
  29. Valley View High School, 1801 East Sixth Street, Ontario, CA, 91764-1599 : Julie Prestsater, Principal — Phone: 909-985-0966
  30. Village Oaks High School, 1900 West Swain Road, Stockton, CA, 95207-3439 : Josef Schallberger, Principal — Phone: 209-953-8740
  31. Vista West High School, 7115 Rosedale Highway, Bakersfield, CA, 93308-5845 : Mike Mullings, Principal — Phone: 661-589-4242
  32. Wasco Independence High School, 1445 Poso Drive, Wasco, CA, 93280-2353 : Martin Lonza, Principal — Phone: 661-758-7450


2017 Model Continuation High Schools

  1. Alessandro High School, Hemet Unified, Riverside County : Tara O’Malley, Principal – Email: tomalley (at) hemetusd.org | Phone: 951-765-5182
  2. Back Bay High School, Newport-Mesa Unified, Orange County : Deborah Lucker-Davis, Principal –  Email: ddavis (at) nmusd.us | Phone: 949-515-3389
  3. Black Diamond High School, Pittsburg Unified, Contra Costa County : Brian Wilson, Principal – Email: brianwilson (at) pittsburg.k12.ca.us | Phone: 925-473-2510
  4. Boynton High School, Campbell Union High, Santa Clara County : Sarah Thomas, Principal – Email: sathomas (at) cuhsd.org | Phone: 408-626-3404
  5. Broadway High School, San Jose Unified, Santa Clara County : Giovanni Bui, Principal – Email: gbui (at) sjusd.org | Phone: 408-535-6285
  6. Buena Vista High School, Paramount Unified, Los Angeles County : Morrie Kosareff, Principal – Email: mkosareff (at) paramount.k12.ca.us | Phone: 562-602-8090
  7. Canyon Oaks High School, Monrovia Unified School District, Los Angeles County : Flint Fertig, Principal – Email: ffertig (at) monroviaschools.net | Phone: 626-471-3000
  8. Chana High School, Placer Union High, Placer County : Stan Parker, Principal – Email: sparker (at) puhsd.k12.ca.us | Phone: 530-885-8401
  9. Core Learning Academy at Conley-Caraballo High, New Haven Unified, Alameda County : Ramon Camacho, Principal – Email: rcamacho (at) nhusd.k12.ca.us | Phone: 510-471-5126
  10. Del Valle Continuation High School, Livermore Valley Joint Unified, Alameda County : Darrel Avilla, Principal, Email: davilla (at) lvjusd.k12.ca.us | Phone: 925-606-4709
  11. Desert Valley High School, Brawley Union High, Imperial County : Antonio Munguia, Principal –  Email: tmunguia (at) brawleyhigh.org | Phone: 760-312-5110
  12. Fairvalley High School, Covina-Valley Unified, Los Angeles County : Dana Craig, Principal – Email:  dcraig (at) cvusd.k12.ca.us | Phone: 626-974-4800
  13. Gilbert High School, Anaheim Union High, Orange County : Jei Garlitos, Principal – Email: garlitos_j (at) auhsd.us | Phone: 714-999-3738
  14. Hillside High School, Upland Unified, San Bernardino County : Jerry Adams, Principal – Email: jerry_adams (at) upland.k12.ca.us | Phone: 909-949-8400
  15. Imperial Avenue Holbrook High School, Imperial Unified, Imperial County : Victor Torres, Principal – Email: vtorres (at) imperialusd.org | Phone: 760-355-3207
  16. Jereann Bowman High School, William S. Hart Union High, Los Angeles County : Robin Geissler, Principal – Email: rgeissler (at) hartdistrict.org | Phone: 661-253-4400
  17. John R. Wooden High School, Los Angeles Unified, Los Angeles County : Laura Novak, Principal – Email: laura.novak (at) lausd.net | Phone: 818-345-0203
  18. Kurt T. Shery High School, Torrance Unified, Los Angeles County : Jamie Jimenez, Principal – Email: jimenez.jamie (at) tusd.org | Phone: 310-533-4440
  19. La Vista High School, Fullerton Joint Union High, Orange County : Sandi Layana, Principal – Email: slayana (at) fjuhsd.org | Phone: 714-447-5501
  20. Liberty High School, Benicia Unified, Solano County : JoAnn Severson, Principal – Email: jseverson (at) beniciaunified.org | Phone: 707-747-8323
  21. Marin Oaks High School, Novato Unified, Marin County : Kessa Early, Principal – Email: kearly (at) nusd.org | Phone: 415-892-8733
  22. Oasis High School, Kingsburg Joint Union High, Fresno County : Ryan Phelan, Principal – Email: rphelan (at) kingsburghigh.com | Phone: 559-897-3880
  23. Orangewood High School, Redlands Unified, San Bernardino County : Carol Ruhm, Principal – Email: carol_ruhm (at) redlands.k12.ca.us | Phone: 909-307-5380
  24. Owensmouth High School, Los Angeles Unified, Los Angeles County : Jason Camp, Principal – Email: jason.camp (at) lausd.net | Phone: 818-340-7663
  25. Pacific Beach Continuation High School, San Luis Coastal Unified, San Luis Obispo County : Andy Marinello, Principal – Email: amarinello (at) slcusd.org | Phone: 805-596-4023
  26. Raincross Continuation High School, Riverside Unified, Riverside County : Dennis Deets, Principal – Email: ddeets (at) rusd.k12.ca.us | Phone: 951-276-7670
  27. Rancho del Mar High School, Palos Verdes Peninsula Unified, Los Angeles County : Rosemary Humphrey, Principal – Email: humphrey (at) pvpusd.net | Phone: 310-377-6691
  28. Richland High School, Orange Unified, Orange County : Elsie Briseno Simonovski, Principal – Email: esimonovski (at) orangeusd.org | Phone: 714-997-6167
  29. Robertson Continuation High School, Fremont Unified, Alameda County : Salvador Herrera, Principal – Email: sherrera (at) fremont.k12.ca.us | Phone: 510-657-9155 ext. 49105
  30. San Andreas High School, San Bernardino City Unified, San Bernardino County : Edward Hensley, Principal – Email: edward.hensley (at) sbcusd.k12.ca.us | Phone: 909-862-5432
  31. Sierra Continuation High School, Tahoe Truckee Unified, Placer County : Greg Wohlman, Principal – Email: gwohlman (at) ttusd.org | Phone: 530-582-2640
  32. Travis Education Center, Travis Unified, Solano County : Allyson Rude Azevedo, Principal – Email: arude (at) travisusd.org | Phone: 707-437-8265
  33. Valley High School, Escondido Union High, San Diego County : Dan Barajas, Principal – Email: dbarajas (at) euhsd.org | Phone: 760-291-2240
  34. Vicente Martinez High School, Martinez Unified, Contra Costa County : Lori O’Connor, Principal – Email: loconnor (at) martinezusd.net | Phone: 925-228-9232
  35. Village High School, Pleasanton Unified, Alameda County : Dana Chavez, Principal – Email: dchavez (at) pleasantonusd.net | Phone: 925-426-4260