CCEA Conference 2017 - Gilbert High School (1AUHSD) - Model School AwardThe Model Continuation High School Recognition Program is sponsored by the California Department of Education (CDE), Educational Options Division, in cooperation with the California Continuation Education Association (CCEA).

CDE receives numerous requests from school districts, the media, and other state agencies for a list of effective continuation schools that they may visit. The Model Continuation Education Recognition Program identifies and recognizes outstanding programs and creates a resource bank of quality programs for school visitations. These schools provide exemplary programs to at-risk youth through the use of innovative instructional strategies, flexible scheduling, and guidance and counseling services.

Requirements and Application

CDE encourages all continuation high schools that have been in operation a minimum of two years and meet other eligibility criteria to review their programs and submit an application for statewide recognition.

Selected schools are Model Schools for three years; after that, those schools will need to re-apply.

Apply Now

Learn more | Download forms

Our Model Schools

We would like to congratulate our current Model Schools!  Each is listed below in alphabetical order with contact information — please note: contacts for each school will change from time to time.



2017 Model Continuation High Schools

  1. Alessandro High School, Hemet Unified, Riverside County : Tara O’Malley, Principal – Email: tomalley (at) hemetusd.org | Phone: 951-765-5182
  2. Back Bay High School, Newport-Mesa Unified, Orange County : Deborah Lucker-Davis, Principal –  Email: ddavis (at) nmusd.us | Phone: 949-515-3389
  3. Black Diamond High School, Pittsburg Unified, Contra Costa County : Brian Wilson, Principal – Email: brianwilson (at) pittsburg.k12.ca.us | Phone: 925-473-2510
  4. Boynton High School, Campbell Union High, Santa Clara County : Sarah Thomas, Principal – Email: sathomas (at) cuhsd.org | Phone: 408-626-3404
  5. Broadway High School, San Jose Unified, Santa Clara County : Giovanni Bui, Principal – Email: gbui (at) sjusd.org | Phone: 408-535-6285
  6. Buena Vista High School, Paramount Unified, Los Angeles County : Morrie Kosareff, Principal – Email: mkosareff (at) paramount.k12.ca.us | Phone: 562-602-8090
  7. Canyon Oaks High School, Monrovia Unified School District, Los Angeles County : Flint Fertig, Principal – Email: ffertig (at) monroviaschools.net | Phone: 626-471-3000
  8. Chana High School, Placer Union High, Placer County : Stan Parker, Principal – Email: sparker (at) puhsd.k12.ca.us | Phone: 530-885-8401
  9. Core Learning Academy at Conley-Caraballo High, New Haven Unified, Alameda County : Ramon Camacho, Principal – Email: rcamacho (at) nhusd.k12.ca.us | Phone: 510-471-5126
  10. Del Valle Continuation High School, Livermore Valley Joint Unified, Alameda County : Darrel Avilla, Principal, Email: davilla (at) lvjusd.k12.ca.us | Phone: 925-606-4709
  11. Desert Valley High School, Brawley Union High, Imperial County : Antonio Munguia, Principal –  Email: tmunguia (at) brawleyhigh.org | Phone: 760-312-5110
  12. Fairvalley High School, Covina-Valley Unified, Los Angeles County : Dana Craig, Principal – Email:  dcraig (at) cvusd.k12.ca.us | Phone: 626-974-4800
  13. Gilbert High School, Anaheim Union High, Orange County : Jei Garlitos, Principal – Email: garlitos_j (at) auhsd.us | Phone: 714-999-3738
  14. Hillside High School, Upland Unified, San Bernardino County : Jerry Adams, Principal – Email: jerry_adams (at) upland.k12.ca.us | Phone: 909-949-8400
  15. Imperial Avenue Holbrook High School, Imperial Unified, Imperial County : Victor Torres, Principal – Email: vtorres (at) imperialusd.org | Phone: 760-355-3207
  16. Jereann Bowman High School, William S. Hart Union High, Los Angeles County : Robin Geissler, Principal – Email: rgeissler (at) hartdistrict.org | Phone: 661-253-4400
  17. John R. Wooden High School, Los Angeles Unified, Los Angeles County : Laura Novak, Principal – Email: laura.novak (at) lausd.net | Phone: 818-345-0203
  18. Kurt T. Shery High School, Torrance Unified, Los Angeles County : Jamie Jimenez, Principal – Email: jimenez.jamie (at) tusd.org | Phone: 310-533-4440
  19. La Vista High School, Fullerton Joint Union High, Orange County : Sandi Layana, Principal – Email: slayana (at) fjuhsd.org | Phone: 714-447-5501
  20. Liberty High School, Benicia Unified, Solano County : JoAnn Severson, Principal – Email: jseverson (at) beniciaunified.org | Phone: 707-747-8323
  21. Marin Oaks High School, Novato Unified, Marin County : Kessa Early, Principal – Email: kearly (at) nusd.org | Phone: 415-892-8733
  22. Oasis High School, Kingsburg Joint Union High, Fresno County : Ryan Phelan, Principal – Email: rphelan (at) kingsburghigh.com | Phone: 559-897-3880
  23. Orangewood High School, Redlands Unified, San Bernardino County : Carol Ruhm, Principal – Email: carol_ruhm (at) redlands.k12.ca.us | Phone: 909-307-5380
  24. Owensmouth High School, Los Angeles Unified, Los Angeles County : Jason Camp, Principal – Email: jason.camp (at) lausd.net | Phone: 818-340-7663
  25. Pacific Beach Continuation High School, San Luis Coastal Unified, San Luis Obispo County : Andy Marinello, Principal – Email: amarinello (at) slcusd.org | Phone: 805-596-4023
  26. Raincross Continuation High School, Riverside Unified, Riverside County : Dennis Deets, Principal – Email: ddeets (at) rusd.k12.ca.us | Phone: 951-276-7670
  27. Rancho del Mar High School, Palos Verdes Peninsula Unified, Los Angeles County : Rosemary Humphrey, Principal – Email: humphrey (at) pvpusd.net | Phone: 310-377-6691
  28. Richland High School, Orange Unified, Orange County : Elsie Briseno Simonovski, Principal – Email: esimonovski (at) orangeusd.org | Phone: 714-997-6167
  29. Robertson Continuation High School, Fremont Unified, Alameda County : Salvador Herrera, Principal – Email: sherrera (at) fremont.k12.ca.us | Phone: 510-657-9155 ext. 49105
  30. San Andreas High School, San Bernardino City Unified, San Bernardino County : Edward Hensley, Principal – Email: edward.hensley (at) sbcusd.k12.ca.us | Phone: 909-862-5432
  31. Sierra Continuation High School, Tahoe Truckee Unified, Placer County : Greg Wohlman, Principal – Email: gwohlman (at) ttusd.org | Phone: 530-582-2640
  32. Travis Education Center, Travis Unified, Solano County : Allyson Rude Azevedo, Principal – Email: arude (at) travisusd.org | Phone: 707-437-8265
  33. Valley High School, Escondido Union High, San Diego County : Dan Barajas, Principal – Email: dbarajas (at) euhsd.org | Phone: 760-291-2240
  34. Vicente Martinez High School, Martinez Unified, Contra Costa County : Lori O’Connor, Principal – Email: loconnor (at) martinezusd.net | Phone: 925-228-9232
  35. Village High School, Pleasanton Unified, Alameda County : Dana Chavez, Principal – Email: dchavez (at) pleasantonusd.net | Phone: 925-426-4260


2016 Model Continuation High Schools

  1. Abraham Lincoln High School, 4341 Victoria Avenue, Riverside, CA 92507-5009 : Pamela Mshana, Principal – Phone: 951-788-7371
  2. Alta Vista High School, 1325 Bryant Avenue, Mountain View, CA, 94040-4527 : Bill Pierce, Principal – Phone: 650-691-2433
  3. Alvord Continuation High School, 3606 Pierce Street, Riverside, CA, 92503-4925 : Sandy Fielding, Principal – Phone: 951-358-1715
  4. Amistad High School, 83501 Dillon Avenue, Indio, CA, 92201-3325 : David Gustafson, Principal – Phone: 760-775-3570
  5. Brea Canyon High School, 689 North Wildcat Way, Brea, CA, 92821-7400 : Carol Christman, Principal – Phone: 714-990-7882
  6. Citrus High School, 261 East Mulberry Avenue, Porterville, CA, 93257-4822 : Scott Braden, Principal – Phone: 559-782-7130
  7. Donald C. Jamison High School, 351 East Bush Street, Lemoore, CA, 93245-3601 : Sandi Lowe, Principal – Phone: 559-924-6620
  8. El Camino Real Continuation High School, 1351 East Orangethorpe Avenue, Placentia, CA, 92870-5302 : Gordon Chamberlin, Principal – Phone: 714-986-0294
  9. George and Evelyn Stein High School, 650 West 10th Street, Tracy, CA, 95376 : Cynthia Johannes, Principal – Phone: 209-830-3395
  10. Glen View High School, 905 Michigan Avenue, Beaumont, CA, 92223 : Matt Russo, Principal – Phone: 951-769-8424
  11. Hare (Marie L.) High School, 12012 Magnolia Street, Garden Grove, CA, 92841-1644 : Todd Nirk, Principal – Phone: 714-663-6508
  12. Independence High School, 6501 Balboa Boulevard, Van Nuys, CA, 91406-5526 : Jason Camp, Principal – Phone: 818-881-7737
  13. Ivy High School, 1056 Winterhaven Road, Fallbrook, CA, 92028-4500 : Melissa Marovich, Principal – Phone: 760-723-6395
  14. Junipero Serra High School, 31422 Camino Capistrano, San Juan Capistrano, CA, 92675-2600 : Meg Ervais, Principal – Phone: 949-489-7216
  15. Kaweah High School, 21215 Avenue 300, Exeter, CA, 93221-9731 : Darin Pace, Principal – Phone: 559-592-4420
  16. Kings River High School, 1801 Seventh Street, Sanger, CA, 93657-2895 : Rick Church, Principal – Phone: 559-524-6490
  17. La Cuesta Continuation High School, 710 Santa Barbara Street, Santa Barbara, CA, 93101-2232 : Elise Simmons, Principal – Phone: 805-966-0883
  18. Lee V. Pollard High School, 185 Magnolia Avenue, Corona, CA, 92879-3329 : Michael Ridgway, Principal – Phone: 951-736-3367
  19. Lloyde (R.K.) High School, 14901 Inglewood Avenue, Lawndale, CA, 90260-1251 : James Tarouilly, Principal – Phone: 310-263-3264
  20. March Mountain High School, 24551 Dracaea Avenue, Moreno Valley, CA, 92553-3745 : Sean McMurray, Principal – Phone: 951-571-4800
  21. Nueva Vista High School, 6836 34th Street, Jurupa Valley, CA, 92509-1301 : Michelle Markham, Principal – Phone: 951-360-2802
  22. Ortega High School, 520 Chaney Street, Building 100, Lake Elsinore, CA, 92530-1230 : Amy Campbell, Principal – Phone: 951-253-7065
  23. Pacific Career and Technology High School, 6560 Melrose Drive, North Highlands, CA, 95660-4375 : Shane Yang, Principal – Phone: 916-566-2715
  24. Park West High School, 1540 West Second Street, Pomona, CA, 91766-1294 : Neville Brown, Principal – Phone: 909-397-4900
  25. Redondo Shores High School, 1000 Del Amo Street, Redondo Beach, CA, 90277-3034 : Sue Hall, Principal – Phone: 310-798-8690
  26. Redwood High School, 18400 Clifton Way, Castro Valley, CA, 94546-0146 : Erica Ehmann, Principal – Phone: 510-537-3193
  27. Rose City High School, 351 South Hudson Avenue, Pasadena, CA, 91109-3507 : Jack Loos, Principal – Phone: 626-396-5620
  28. Ruben Salazar High School, 9115 Balflour Street, Pico Rivera, CA, 90660-3225 : Reynaldo Reyes, Principal – Phone: 562-801-5021
  29. Sierra High School, 570 East Ninth Street, San Bernardino, CA, 92410-3898 : Rose Lalama, Principal – Phone: 909-388-6478
  30. Silverado Continuation High School, 25632 Peter A. Hartman Way, Mission Viejo, CA, 92691-3118 : David Gordon, Principal – Phone: 949-586-8800
  31. Slover Mountain High School, 18829 Orange Street, Bloomington, CA, 92316 : Kristi Richardson, Principal – Phone: 909-580-5013
  32. Somerset High School, 9242 East Laurel Street, Bellflower, CA, 90706-7607 : Mark Kailiponi, Principal – Phone: 562-804-6548
  33. Thornton High School, 115 First Avenue, Daly City, CA, 94014-2643 : Monica Casey, Principal – Phone: 650-550-7840
  34. Twin Oaks High School, 158 Cassou Road, San Marcos, CA, 92069-9702 : Mary Bunker, Principal – Phone: 760-290-2555
  35. Val Verde High School, 972 West Morgan Street, Perris, CA, 92571-3103 : Steven Coelho, Principal – Phone: 951-940-6155
  36. Valley High School, 1927 Randolph Street, Delano, CA, 93215-1526 : Chris Juarez, Principal – Phone: 661-720-4180
  37. Whitcomb High School, 350 West Mauna Loa Avenue, Glendora, CA, 91740-4399 : Ron Letourneau, Principal – Phone: 626-852-4550


2015 Model Continuation High Schools

  1. Allan F. Daily High School, 220 North Kenwood Street, Glendale, CA 91206-4209 : René Valdes, Principal – Phone: 818-527-4805
  2. Apollo High School, 3150 School Street, Simi Valley, CA 93065 : Dean May, Principal – Phone: 805-520-6150
  3. Arrow High School, 1505 South Sunflower Avenue, Glendora, CA 91740 : Lisa Raigosa, Principal – Phone: 626-914-3961
  4. Black Rock High School, 59273 Sunnyslope Drive, Yucca Valley, CA 92284 : Vonda Viland, Principal – Phone: 760-369-6310
  5. Calaveras Hills High School, 1331 East Calaveras Boulevard, Milpitas, CA 95035 : Carl Stice, Principal – Phone: 408-635-2690
  6. Century High School, 20 South Marengo Avenue, Alhambra, CA 91801 : Lindsey K. Ma, Principal – Phone: 626-943-6681
  7. Conejo Valley High School, 1872 Newbury Road, Newbury Park, CA 91320 : Martin Manzer, Principal – Phone: 805-498-6646
  8. Del Mar High School, 312 South Del Mar Avenue, San Gabriel, CA 91776 : Lon Sellers, Principal – Phone: 626-291-5723
  9. Delta High School, 4893 Bethany Drive, Santa Maria, CA 93455 : Esther Prieto-Chávez, Principal – Phone: 805-937-6356
  10. Frontier High School, 9401 South Painter Avenue, Whittier, CA 90605 : Margie Moriarty, Principal – Phone: 562-698-8121
  11. Gateway High School, 1550 Herndon Avenue, Clovis, CA 93611 : Rees Warne, , Principal – Phone: 559-327-1800
  12. Hillview High School, 15400 Lansdowne Road, Tustin, CA 92780 : Tim O’Donoghue, Principal – Phone: 714-730-7356
  13. Laguna High School, 445 Taft Street, Sebastopol, CA 95472 : Kent Cromwell, Principal – Phone: 707-824-6485
  14. Mesquite High School, 140 West Drummond Avenue, Ridgecrest, CA 93555 : Jo Anne McClelland, Principal – Phone: 760-499-1810
  15. Montecito High School, 720 Ninth Street, Ramona, CA 92065 : Dave Lohman, Principal – Phone: 760-787-4300
  16. Mt. Madonna High School, 8750 Hirasaki Court, Gilroy, CA 95020 : Jennifer Del Bono, Principal – Phone: 408-842-4313
  17. Mt. San Jacinto High School, 30800 Landau Boulevard, Cathedral City, CA 92234 : Milt Jones, Principal – Phone: 760-770-8563
  18. Newmark High School, 134 Witmer Street, Los Angeles, CA 90026 : Justin Lauer, Principal – Phone: 213-250-9675
  19. North Park High School, 4600 North Bogart Avenue, Baldwin Park, CA 91706 : Harris Vincent Pratt, Principal – Phone: 626-337-4407
  20. Orange Grove High School, 300 South Buena Vista Avenue, Corona, CA 92882 : Joseph Almasy, Principal – Phone: 951-736-3339
  21. Pacific High School, 501 College Drive, Ventura, CA 93003 : Kenneth Loo, Principal – Phone: 805-289-7950
  22. Palomar High School, 480 Palomar Street, Chula Vista, CA 91911 : Sarita Fuentes, Principal – Phone: 619-407-4800
  23. Renaissance High School, 325 North Palm Avenue, Santa Paula, CA 93060 : Robin Gillette, Principal – Phone: 805-525-4407
  24. Salisbury High School, 1050 Kimball Road, Red Bluff, CA 96080 : Barbara Thomas, Principal – Phone: 530-529-8766
  25. San Antonio High School, 125 West San Jose Avenue, Claremont, CA 91711 : Sean Delgado, Principal – Phone: 909-398-0316
  26. Sierra High School, 1134 South Barranca Avenue, Glendora, CA 91740 : Mari Bordona, Principal – Phone: 626-852-8300
  27. Sture Larsson High School, 1813 McClellan Way, Stockton, CA 95207 : Phyllis Kahl, Principal – Phone: 209-953-8687
  28. Valley Alternative High School, 15430 Shadybend Drive, Hacienda Heights, CA 91745 : Steven Cazares, Principal – Phone: 626-933-3400
  29. Victory High School, 3250 Victory Drive, Rocklin, CA 95765 : Mark Williams, Principal – Phone: 916-632-3195